My Post-Election Open Letter

If you had asked me on any day leading up to November 8, 2016 about my feelings towards the election I would have quite honestly been rather blasé about the entire thing, and I definitely did not think I would be posting something on my blog about it. I will be completely honest when prefacing this post by saying that I could not have been any less involved in the election – a few articles here and there and a few funny memes were about as involved as I got in both depth of conversation with friends and on Facebook with the rest of the world. Regardless, “anyone but Trump” was who I was planning to vote for when exercising my right for the first time in my 22 years.

Today I am sitting at the computer typing this letter on November 11, 2016 and Donald Trump is becoming the 45th president of the United States of America. I feel like someone just died, that is the best way to try and describe the feeling. I am not angry, and neither are many of the people (at least who I know) who voted for Hillary. I am heartbroken, a little scared, and I am nervous for what’s to come. I feel this way because some of the things Trump endorses and legislature he is trying to repeal/get passed will directly effect me as a member of the LGBTQ+ community. I feel this way because I am a woman.

I am the liberal, gay, daughter of a Trump supporter and that has been one of the things hitting me the hardest these past couple of days. Leading up to the election I knew this fact. I had heard it talked about first hand and saw it all over Facebook just like many others. I am a firm believer in the difference of opinion and everyone is their own person and encouraged and entitled to have one, but in this case I can not agree to disagree. I am not saying that I wish you had voted for Hillary, I just wish you had voted for anyone BUT Trump. Here’s why:

In my eyes you now seem just as selfish, close-minded, sexist, racist, homophobic, and all of the other terms used to describe our Mr. Future President. As your daughter it hurts to see you stand by a man who refers to his own daughter as “a piece of ass”; who brushes to the side sexual harassment and assault; who blames the woman; who is leading by example and basically saying to the creepy, sexist men out there ‘hey, it’s okay! they deserve it!’; who values my worth off of the size of my chest or the prettiness of my face; who doesn’t feel I have a right to my body and how I take care of it. I also know that you don’t particularly care to have a female president. How, as a loving and caring father to 3 girls, do you not care about how he makes us feel?

As a member of the LGBTQ+ community I know that you support me, maybe not everyone else, but at least me. But it is no surprise that Tump and Pence are not (although that one article circulating around does show this) waving rainbow flags. I am not a loud voice for the community, nor do I shove my sexual preference in the face of others, but I do want to know that my future marriage will be legitimate in the eyes of this country so I can have children (whether that is through artificial insemination, adoption, etc.), so that I can visit my sick wife in the hospital and make decisions when necessary, and so I can move wherever I want across this country and not have to worry about getting my apartment applications denied or being refused service for holding another woman’s hand. These are all things I know you do not want to see me struggle with, so why and how did you vote for someone who is going to try and make things be this way?

To you and the other men out there married to immigrants, how do you support and stand behind the removal and keep out of the other immigrants in this country? Because of the particular country they come from? Because they speak a different language? These are people who you employ, work alongside, are you neighbor’s, and are the parents of you children’s friends. Let’s not forget that your family, not so many generations ago, were also once immigrants here.

To some of my friends who will not be directly affected and keep telling me that Trump has no power, he does. He is choosing who sits in the open seat in the Supreme Court and they will most likely be Republican. We have now have a Republican Congress and Senate, and we have a country filled with millions of people, so many that the nation was shocked on election day, that stand behind him and support him. Those millions are what is making me scared and upset. I was never a die-hard Hillary supporter, I think she was and is more qualified on paper and it would have been cool to see a female president this young in my lifetime but I know that’s coming soon enough. I am nervous with anticipation to see how Trump handles presidency, and I can only hope he is not as much of a lunatic as his campaigning made him seem. To this, only time will tell.

I can’t do anything to change the president and we all now must stand to fight for our beliefs to make sure this country continues moving in the right direction instead of taking 10 steps back. To all of the other minorities who are feeling scared and alone, I am with you. I am hurt and I am disappointed, but we are going to get through this together. Thank you for reading.

x M

Leave a Reply

