2016

Dear 2016,

Thank you for being one of the best years of my life. Yes, you read that correctly. 

As I sit in the airport preparing for my next big adventure that begins January 1, 2017 I can’t help but reflect on what 2016 brought me. This past year has been absolutely life changing. To point out some highlights I lived in London, England for 5 months and from there traveled to 9 other countries.I met a group of girls who became some of my best friends. I landed a dream internship at a renowned Boston advertising agency. I bought my first car. I lost family members. I began my final year of college. I traveled to two new states. I’ve continued to find my voice and how to express it. I went to concerts. I learned how to move on and let go. I’ve learned that sometimes what you want isn’t what you need. I moved twice.  I learned that it’s okay to not be okay and to tell people when you need some extra love. I tried new foods. I cut my hair. I reconnected with old friends. I made art. I made new friends. I made mistakes. I drank. I cried. I laughed. I made countless memories.

2016 was a big year and there are a lot of bad things that hurt and divided people. There was a lot of loss, hate, violence, and sadness this year and many peopled cannot wait for midnight to strike and 2017 to begin. With that being said, I hope 2017 is another overall outstanding year full of love, success, and more adventure and I hope everyone who hates 2016 goes into the new year prepared to take challenges on head first. Look at what you have the power to change or control and do something about it.

2016, you are definitely one for the books.

Love,

Marissa

One Comment Add yours

  1. Joanne says:

    That was beautiful Marissa be safe and have a wonderful new adventure to startv2017!

    Like

Leave a Reply

