A Trip Down Under!

G’day mates!

I have been home in Boston for just over a week now from my whirlwind two-week trip to Australia. Aside from the fact that I got to kick of 2017 in a new country,  I also went to Australia to visit one of my best friends who I met during my semester abroad which started almost exactly a year to the day I arrived in Aus. Another exciting thing about the trip is that I got to go and visit Allie with not just one other study abroad friend, but two! Something about that is so special in my mind. Anyways, let’s get on to the trip!

We packed so much into these two weeks which included being tourists around Sydney Harbour

Camping in Jervis Bay, NSW

Going to the Featherdale Wildlife Park and meeting some koalas, kangaroos, and quokkas (other wildlife we got to see and interact with included wombats, wallabies, a cassowary, and a Tasmanian devil!)

Checking out Bondi beach, Minni Ha-Ha Falls, The Three Sisters, and the Blue Mountains

Snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef off of Green Island (unfortunately I didn’t take my phone into the water for that one) and so much more! A majority of the trip we slept at Allie’s mom’s place just outside central Sydney and she was constantly cooking us breakfast, snacks, and dinner and she definitely made us feel at home on the other side of the world. We also met a bunch of Allie’s friends who were all super sweet and I really enjoyed getting to know them and hanging out with them.

Another incredible trip in the books and a perfect way to set the tone of 2017!

DSC_0339.JPG

x Marissa

Some Extras:

  • Cairns, Australia, QLD – hostel we stayed in AKA party central (met some cool people there as well from Colorado, Canada, and Sweden!)
  • Bar to check out: Mary’s in Newtown, Sydney
Leave a Reply

